Disaster Management – Control Room : +91 9495003640, 0477 2238630, 1077

Alappuzha is the smallest district in Kerala. Kuttanad, one of the rare regions in the world below sea level, is located in Alappuzha district. Manimala, Pamba and Achankovil are the major rivers flowing through the district. The coastal area of ​​Alappuzha is about 82 km long.These coastal districts, including 3 coastal taluks, 18 villages and 19 panchayats, have been affected by disasters such as sea fever, tsunami, and hurricane. The recent cyclone Ockhi hurts the alappuzha very much.The major problems faced by Alappuzha are floods, drought, lightning, sea bogies, hurricanes, chemicals, accidents and boat crashes. The District Disaster Management Authority (DEOC) has been formed to coordinate disaster management activities at the district level. The structure of the authority is as follows.

Disaster Management

Sl No. Designation Name Phone number
1 Chair Person(ex-Officio) District Collector 0477 2251720, 9447129011
2 Co-Chair Person (ex -Officio) District Panchayat President 04772253836, 9446564463
3 Chief Executive Officer Deputy Collector (Disaster Management) 8547610047
4 Member (ex-Officio) District Police Chief 0477-2239326, 9497996982
5 Member (ex-Officio) District Medical Officer (Health) 0477-2252329
6 Member (ex-Officio) Assistant Divional Officer, Fire & Rescue Force 0477-2230303, 9497920114
7 Member (ex-Officio) Deputy Director(Fisheries) 0477-2251103, 9496007028