Administrative Setup

Alappuzha District has four types of administrative hierarchies:

  1. Taluk and Village administration managed by the provincial Government of Kerala.
  2. Panchayath Administration managed by the local bodies.
  3. Parliament Constituencies for the federal Government of India.
  4. Assembly Constituencies for the provincial Government of Kerala.

Alappuzha District has 2 Revenue Subdivisions, 6 Taluks and 93 Villages under Revenue Department.It has 6 Municipalities, 1 District Panchayath, 12 Block Panchayaths  72 Grama Panchayaths under Local Self Government Department. There are 9 Legislative Assembly Constituencies and 2 Lok Sabha  Constituencies.